skip to Main Content

Again this year, as a member of the IQHRA, you will have the opportunity to vote for the association’s President, Vice President, and Board of Directors on a mail-in ballot.

Any eligible voting member, who was a member on or before September 30, 2019 may notify the IQHRA in writing or email and it must be received by November 1, 2019 if they would like to be nominated for election to the Board of Directors.  You are encouraged to send a brief bio of yourself which will be included with each ballot.

The current directors with terms expiring at the end of 2019 are: Butch Bain, Jim Hume, Don Rayner, and Bob Urich.  Current directors with expiring terms may be re-elected. The current President and Vice President, Tom Lepic and Terry Thorson, may also be reelected.

How the process works: The IQHRA will accept nominations in writing or by email until November 1, 2019.  In mid-November, a nominations ballot will be mailed to every eligible voting member of our association.  Theses ballots must be returned to the CPA auditing the election.  The four (4) nominees receiving the most votes for Board of Directors positions will become directors of the IQHRA beginning with the February 2020 board meeting.

What does a board member do: IQHRA is the official representative for all Quarter Horse racing in Iowa.  The Board of Directors shall have the power and authority to make, adopt, amend, repeal, and enforce such rules and regulations, not contrary to law, the Articles of Incorporation of the Corporation and its bylaws.  The board shall also have the responsibility of fixing and collecting dues and fees, authorizing and overseeing the expenditures of moneys, providing for the auditing of the corporation’s books and records, awarding of championships and trophies, and governing the conduct of all meets, sales, publication, contracts, and any and all other activities relating to the general purposes and advancement of the corporation.


What is required of the Board Members:  Directors are elected to a three (3) year term.  The President and Vice President positions are both two (2) year terms. Directors receive no pay but must attend regular bi-monthly board meetings.  The meetings normally begin at 10:30 AM on Saturdays and last approximately two (2) hours.  Unless otherwise announced, board meetings are held at Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino.  Directors are also asked to serve on various committees, attend and support the Quarter Horse race meet, the awards banquet, and other functions hosted by the association for its members.  Directors must be available by phone and email so they can be well informed regarding racing issues during their term.

If you are interested and willing to give the time to serve on the IQHRA Board, please send your brief bio to either Tom Lepic (, 305 N Main Street, North Liberty IA 52317 or Chris Hovey (, 25327 Sportsmans Club Rd, Adel, IA 50003.

Back To Top